5 Minute Mommy Makeup

IMG_0291

So this past weekend my husband and I went to a wedding without our daughter. It was our 3rd date night in a year.  My mom babysat our daughter which was really nice since it was an “adults only” wedding.  I’m also hesitant to take her to places with loud sounds that are consistent as it can impact hearing when they are so young and wedding music is loud (especially a band).  I checked via the Decibel 10th app on my iPhone while at the reception and sure thing, where we were sitting had a decibel level that hit between 96-98 consistently.  I can’t even imagine what it was on the dance floor.  Oh and if you don’t know.  The recommended noise level for infants is 80.  Now keep in mind that this is not realistic in the city or really anywhere but your home.  However, you don’t want to expose your child to loud noises for a long period of time.

Anyways, like probably every mom, getting ready is very different from what is was before having a baby.  The trick these days is find a routine that requires as little amount of time as possible but still makes you look presentable.

These are my go to makeup products that I use daily and it only takes me 5 minutes to get ready.  Keep in mind that I pretty much rock the “mom bun” every day.

After applying your moisturizer (which I have not done for over a year — only because I have not found one until recently that I felt was safe enough to use while pregnant and nursing) I use these products:

Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Color – I cannot tell you how much I love this product.  I have it in Rosegold and Amethyst and it is super easy to apply.  Swipe and done.  It is also long lasting.

Laura Mercier Kohl Eye Pencil or MAC Kohl Eye Pencil – These both glide on smooth and don’t really smudge.

Benefit Watt’s Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter – This is great when you get very little sleep and you need something to brighten your eyes/hide your exhaustion.

Laura Mercier Eyebrow Pencil – I am a redhead with black eyelashes and light brown/blonde eyebrows.  Needless to say it is hard to match but Laura Mercier has a really great color selection.

Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder – I used to use cream foundations but I have found that this feels lighter on my skin since I prefer minimal coverage and it is a lot faster to apply than cream (and less messy).

NARS The Multiple Stick in Orgasm – This is the perfect blush.  It goes with every skin color and you can even use it on your lips.

*moisturizer I plan on purchasing – Eminence Organics Red Currant Protective Moisturizer or Osmia Organics Purely Simple Face Cream.

Leave a Reply

